ABOUT ARIZONA 811

Formerly Arizona Blue Stake, Inc.

WE ARE ARIZONA 811

MISSION: Our Mission is to perform excavation notification services and stakeholder education that promotes the safety and welfare of the community by protecting underground facilities from damage.

VISION: Arizona 811 sets the performance standard as a premier communication center in the damage-prevention industry. Where we go, the industry will follow!

History

In 1974, “Arizona Blue Stake” was established as a call center so underground facility owners and operators would be notified when anyone was planning to dig so they could mark their facilities in advance, in accordance with Arizona Revised Statute 40-360.21-32, also referred to as Arizona’s “Call Before You Dig” law.

In 2014, “Arizona Blue Stake” officially changed its name to Arizona 811. Today, Arizona 811 works with professional excavators and homeowners throughout Arizona to facilitate pre-excavation notification services from its communication center in Tempe, Ariz.

In 2005, the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) designated 811 as the national number to call before any type of digging so underground utilities could be located and marked, protecting lives and infrastructure from coast-to-coast. With the “one nation, one number” concept realized, anyone in any state can call 811 and be connected directly with their local one-call center. Like many states, Arizona also makes it easy to create and manage utility-location requests online, any time, through its free E-Stake tool.

Did You Know?

Arizona law requires anyone who plans to dig in any way for any reason to contact Arizona 811 at least two full working days in advance (excluding weekends and state holidays) to have all underground utilities in the area located and marked.

Knowing the location of underground utilities before any type of digging is the simplest and most effective way to prevent serious injuries and reduce or eliminate damage to the utilities we all rely on every day.

When a utility-location request precedes any type of digging, damage is avoided 99% of the time.

(Source: Common Ground Alliance Damage Information Reporting Tool)

The Arizona 811 Facility

Modern, efficient, ergonomic. Arizona 811 operates from a state-of-the-art communication center in Tempe. The Arizona 811 Center also features multiple meeting spaces, a training center, kitchen and break-room facilities and designated areas for employees to relax or be active when not assisting customers.

MEET THE TEAM

Administration

Executive Director

Sandra Holmes

602.659.7503

Sandra.Holmes@Arizona811.com

Finance Administrator

Lisa Kennedy

602.659.7506

Lisa.Kennedy@Arizona811.com

Member Services Technician

Carla Naylor

602.659.7531

Carla.Naylor@Arizona811.com

Administrative Coordinator

Linda Mallett

602.659.7521

Linda.Mallett@Arizona811.com

Public Services

Public Services Liaison

Sunita Rowe

602.659.7508

Sunita.Rowe@Arizona811.com

Operations

Call Center Operations Manager

Brad Simon

602.659.7501

Brad.Simon@Arizona811.com

Lead Locate Specialist

Monica Orona

602.659.7500 ext 2294

Monica.O@Arizona811.com

Lead Locate Specialist

Mike Addington   

602.659.7500 ext 2294

Mike.A@Arizona811.com

Systems

IT Manager

Kenny Hensley

602.659.7509

Kenny.Hensley@Arizona811.com

Political Sign Coordinator

Jason Koopman

602.659.7523

Jason.K@Arizona811.com

42

YEARS IN BUSINESS

31

EMPLOYEES

522,000

INCOMING LOCATE-REQUEST TICKETS PER YEAR

3,333,000

NOTIFICATIONS TO UNDERGROUND FACILITY OWNERS/OPERATORS PER YEAR